drip coffee

Specialty coffee?Big Deal?Really?

At Sofá Café all our coffees are special… So what?! Understand what makes a specialty coffee:

The coffees, when classified, are evaluated in more than 10 sensorial patterns like: aroma, sweetness, acidity, body, and others. They can score from 0 to 100 according to their quality and thus are classified into 4 categories:

  • Traditional

  • Superior

  • Gourmet

  • Specialty.

To be considered a specialty coffee it must reach a score up to 80, to have a high degree of purity and very high quality. Few producers can achieve this quality, and here at Sofá Café the coffee has to get at least 84 points to get through our doors.

It is up to us to do the job of sourcing the best producing regions of Brazil in order to find the best coffees you can taste. And do ensure that it will reach you the way we believe you deserve, we take care not only of the selection of these coffees but also of the roasting, always preserving the best attributes of the coffee and always ensuring fresh coffee.

Now that you know the difference, will you continue to drink traditional coffee?

Trackbacks and pingbacks

No trackback or pingback available for this article.